TL;DR
On-chain reputation is not fraud-proof, and no measured fraud rate for it has been published. Off-chain fakes are cheap and sold openly; an on-chain record is only as hard to fake as it is costly to write.
Each figure below keeps its own unit, year label and method, so this on-chain reputation fraud rate benchmark compares inputs, not one score.
They show a range. The FTC's 2024 rule record says estimates "vary by source" and "range from the single digits to over twenty percent," and that at least three studies found approximately ten percent of products or businesses have some manipulated consumer reviews. That 10% counts products or businesses, not individual reviews.
Because units and methods differ: reviews, products or businesses, and gigs, measured by a filter, a classifier or a sample. The restaurant-review study found roughly 16% of reviews filtered and treats that as a fraud proxy, so 16% filtered is not 16% proven fake.
The same study found restaurants more likely to commit review fraud when their reputation is weak, with few reviews. A new freelancer profile sits in a similar spot.
Because a market sells them. In April 2017 data from 34 paid review providers (of 43 studied), fake reviews averaged $1.73 to $2.14 on one mobile app store and $3.41 to $4.24 on the other; some review-exchange portals paid reviewers, typically $0.20 to $1.50 per review. These are not 2026 prices.
In July and August 2013 data, 121 of 1,550 sampled gigs on a micro-task freelance marketplace were crowdturfing tasks sold for $5.
From March to October 2020, about 23 social-media groups a day trading fake e-commerce reviews each averaged 568 requests per day. The payoff is a significant but short-term rating boost.
A chain makes a record public, not honest. Cost is the lever that can deter fakes. In a 2025 study, one airdrop required at least two bridge transactions and $1,000 or more in volume, yet drew 3,551 reported attacker addresses; a second airdrop, whose gate the study does not state, drew 7,681. These are counts, not rates.
Collusion survives auditability: when one person controls both sides of a contract, the record looks clean (see the attack vectors behind cheap wallets and self-dealing). In one e-commerce study, product-reviewer network features were more costly for sellers to manipulate than review text or timing: a hint, not proof, for on-chain signals.
In this model, a self-dealt $500 approved contract under a 10% fee sends $50 to fees, roughly 12x to 29x the 2017 average price of a paid fake app review. That is original arithmetic on mixed-year inputs, not a platform measurement or a fraud rate.
FiduWork has not disclosed what event writes a reputation record, so the record-writing inputs below are assumptions, not platform rules.
At a $50 fake milestone the fee is $5, the same as the 2013 gig. A fee gate bites only if small contracts carry little weight, and rating weights are not disclosed. The model excludes gas (a separate, per-transaction cost), locked-capital time value, identity or credential checks (not disclosed) and inflation since 2013 and 2017.
On unit price the gap is wide but conditional: a crowdturfing gig cost $5 in 2013 data, versus $50 in fees per $500 fake contract in the model. On prevalence there is nothing to compare: no fraud rate for on-chain freelance reputation, FiduWork's included, has been published.
Columns don't share units. On-chain figures are counts, and "not measured" means no Tier-1 figure exists, not zero.
Never buy or swap reviews. US rules in force since 21 October 2024 ban buying fake reviews, treat an individual who sells services as a "business" and a review given "in exchange for" another review as a purchase, and star-only ratings count as consumer reviews too.
Answer each from the platform's docs, its contract on a block explorer and one small test contract; a blank means unknown, not yes. Ask these of any platform, FiduWork included, and read an earlier explainer on wallet-bound credentials.
Platform Signal. FiduWork's BETA runs on Sepolia with 1,200+ freelancer profiles and a 10% flat fee on approved contracts. What writes, signs and weights a reputation record is undisclosed, so the cost figure above is a model.
Compliance corner. In the United States, the FTC's 16 CFR Part 465, effective 21 October 2024, makes it an unfair or deceptive practice for a business to write, create, sell or purchase fake consumer reviews (16 CFR 465.2); its definitions treat an individual selling services as a business and a review given in exchange for another review as a purchase (16 CFR 465.1). In the EU, Directive (EU) 2019/2161 added points 23b and 23c to Annex I of Directive 2005/29/EC, blacklisting submitting or commissioning false consumer reviews, and claims that reviews come from consumers who actually used or purchased the product without reasonable and proportionate checks, applying from 28 May 2022 (EUR-Lex text). Other jurisdictions, including the UK, have their own rules. This is general information, not legal advice.
Next: how DID reputation maps to the W3C VC data model, how a 72-hour juror vote works and landing your first Web3 contract.
Apply as a Verified Freelancer. Take on milestone work on the Sepolia beta and build your record from your own client work, not bought reviews. Open the app.
More articles









