TL;DR
Gas on a milestone escrow is priced per unit of computation, not per dollar locked. Your budget is gas units multiplied by the per-unit fee, converted at an ETH price. A layer 2 rollup can lower the price of each unit. The contract calls still happen, and the escrowed amount never enters the formula.
For a startup or DAO, gas is a separate budget line from the platform fee, which grows with the value of the work. This is general budgeting information, not financial advice.
A milestone escrow's gas cost is the gas units its calls consume, multiplied by the base fee plus the priority fee, paid in ETH. The ethereum.org gas documentation shows the formula: 21,000 units at a 10 gwei base fee plus a 2 gwei tip equals 252,000 gwei, or 0.000252 ETH. The escrowed USDC amount appears nowhere in it.
EIP-2200 prices writing a fresh, previously zero storage slot at 20,000 gas, close to the 21,000 a whole plain transfer needs, so a contract that records more state per milestone uses more gas whatever the dollar figure.
FiduWork's beta escrow runs on Sepolia, the recommended default testnet, where ETH is supposed to have no real value, and testnet USDC has no financial value. Beta gas carries no dollar signal. FiduWork has not published gas units or said who pays gas.
L2 fees matter now because Ethereum has changed how rollups pay for data three times in under two years. Blobs arrived with the Dencun upgrade, Pectra raised the blob target from 3 to 6, and per ethereum.org's Fusaka upgrade page, Fusaka went live on December 3, 2025, with each full node holding only 1/8th of the data, enabling what the page calls theoretical scale up to 8x.
EIP-4844 made blob gas a separate gas type with its own targeting rule and fee market. Nodes serve blob data for around 18 days. For normal gas, EIP-1559 burns the base fee and moves it with congestion. The move is at most one-eighth (12.5%) per block.
One milestone lifecycle on mainnet would cost about $7.68 in gas, roughly 0.77% of the $1,000 a 10% fee would be on a hypothetical $10,000 milestone. Inputs: an assumed 200,000 gas units, teaching-value prices of 10 plus 2 gwei, and ETH at $3,200 as Decrypt reported on 4 December 2025. None is a FiduWork measurement and the dates differ, so $7.68 demonstrates the formula, not today's mainnet cost.
With no amount term, the same $7.68 applies to a $1,000 or a $100,000 milestone.
The Block reported on 14 March 2024 that the median gas fee on Base fell from around $0.5 to about $0.0012 once Dencun went live; the average was $0.06. Assuming 3 transactions per lifecycle, another assumption, gives 3 x $0.0012 = $0.0036 at the median, 3 x $0.06 = $0.18 at the average, and 3 x $0.5 = $1.50 before. Storage-heavy escrow calls may cost more than the median, so the average is the safer budget input.
FiduWork charges the 10% flat fee on approved work, and its pricing page says freelancers keep 90 cents of every dollar a client approves. The 0.77% comparison assumes the whole $10,000 milestone is approved; whether gas sits inside or outside that fee is not disclosed.
See how a flat fee compares with a layered stack.
An optimistic rollup's fees depend on 3 components: state writes, blob gas used to post data to Ethereum, and an operator fee, per ethereum.org's optimistic rollup guide. Operators batch many transactions together, spreading fixed costs across all of them. This is general analysis: FiduWork's beta runs on Sepolia, and no L2 deployment has been disclosed.
The Fusaka page says layer 2s pay two bills when posting data: the blob fee and the execution gas to verify those blobs. If execution gas dominates, it says, the blob fee could spiral down to 1 wei, which EIP-7918 now prevents with a reserve price, so a near-floor blob price is a weak budget baseline.
The zero-knowledge rollup guide prices calldata at 16 gas per non-zero byte and 4 per zero byte, and notes that EIP-7623 adds a floor cost for data-heavy transactions. It also says how much data each transaction posts influences its cost.
Gas pricing can move within about a minute. Ethereum divides time into twelve-second units called slots, and the base fee can rise by up to 12.5% per block. By our own arithmetic, 1.125 to the sixth power is about 2.03, so six consecutive full blocks roughly double a base fee: about 72 seconds if every slot carries a full block.
On ethereum.org's example, a 50,000 gas limit on a simple transfer uses 21,000 and returns 29,000; the sender is also refunded any gap between the max fee and the base fee plus tip.
For settlement timing when escrow spans chains, see finality waits across chains.
Gas does not have to come from the wallet that triggers it. ERC-4337 describes paymasters that can sponsor transactions for other users, so app developers can subsidize fees and users can pay fees with ERC-20 tokens. FiduWork has not disclosed who pays gas on its Sepolia escrow, so these are general options, not the platform's design.
A USDC token paymaster from Circle lets end users pay network fees in USDC instead of the native token, under ERC-4337, so a stablecoin-only team may not need ETH on hand. Circle's page adds a 10% surcharge on gas fees on Arbitrum and Base, so budget that premium where it applies.
Budget gas by re-running the fee formula with gas units measured on your own transactions. For scale, a standard ETH transfer requires 21,000 units of gas, and escrow calls that write storage typically need more. Then price the units at a dated fee, compare the result with the 10% platform fee, and add headroom for 12.5% per-block moves.
Platform Signal. FiduWork's USDC milestone escrow runs on Sepolia during the BETA, with a 10% flat fee on approved contracts and 0% on job posting. Gas units, the gas payer and any L2 or mainnet plan are undisclosed, so every figure above is your own budget model.
Compliance corner. On money transmission through decentralized applications, FinCEN Guidance FIN-2019-G001 (United States, May 2019, section 4.4) says that when DApps perform money transmission, the definition of money transmitter will apply to the DApp, its owners or operators, or both (FinCEN guidance on convertible virtual currency business models). Whether a party that sponsors gas or moves convertible virtual currency for users is a money services business is a question for US counsel. This is general information, not legal advice; other jurisdictions differ.
Next, read about escrow-first hiring for pre-seed founders, booking network fees in the ledger or gas per juror vote.
Fund Your First Escrow. Model the gas with your own numbers, then fund a USDC milestone on the Sepolia beta. Open the app.
More articles









